Novel-writing update of win and gold


I’m fairly certain I’m one of the most inconsistent bloggers ever. The last time I posted was in June–right before I decided to abruptly sign up for Camp NaNoWriMo and write 30,000 words over the month of July (aka 1k a day). I never followed up after July had ended–so sorry about that!–but in case anyone was wondering, I totally achieved my goal. And believe it or not: what I’d churned out was actually good. Not perfect, mind you, but salvageable content. At long last, I discovered the voice of my main character Lindsey. I was thrilled. So thrilled that I just kept writing and I’ve been writing fairly regularly since last summer.

As of last week, I’m happy to report that my manuscript is at 50,000 words, and a little more than half of that is edited and mostly polished. It feels so good to finally feel like I’m making progress in this book. The more I write, however, the more I realize just how much more I have left to write. It’s both intimidating and exciting and I can’t wait to continue my adventures with my favorite gang of thieves.

I’ve also had the opportunity to submit completely new chapters of Boot Hill to a creative fiction capstone I’m taking this spring semester, and the feedback I’ve been given so far has been overwhelmingly positive and helpful. (I actually just submitted my final chapter to the class for workshop next week, so maybe I’ll talk about that once that’s over.) I’ve been extremely fortunate to have a supportive professor who is willing to let his students submit genre fiction, which has actually been both great for me but awful in terms of some of the other stuff I’ve had to read this semester. Yeesh. Anyway, his comments during our individual conferences lead me to believe that Boot Hill might just have publishing potential once it’s finished. Nothing beats hearing that from the mouth of a published, experienced author. Ahhhh, I can hardly contain my excitement.

And now that the semester is coming to a close, I will have even more time to continue writing my novel. I’m probably going to do Camp NaNoWriMo again in July because that actually seemed to work for me last year, and maybe–just maybe–I’ll have a complete first draft of Boot Hill by the time I graduate college.

Fingers crossed!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

