Novel update + new character sheet!


First off: an apology. I feel so awful that it’s been more than a year and a half since I’ve updated this blog. I’m really going to try harder to keep this updated, especially because somewhere deep inside I know it helps motivate me to keep writing Boot Hill. Maybe that’s why it’s gone cold for so long…

Nonetheless, I’m happy to announce that things are going very, very well for Boot Hill right now. I finally got around to writing up a character sheet for one of my favorite secondary characters named Vidame, so check that out (artwork courtesy Hunter Bonyun, of course)! I’ve also updated most of the existing character sheets with more accurate information if you want to have a gander, and I put up a synopsis of Boot Hill.

I have nearly 70,000 words of the first novel’s first draft written, and a general outline for the majority of the first novel itself. This is actually a huge leap forward for me; a lot of the story has been difficult for me to pin down for years, and I finally feel like it’s taking a tangible shape that I can organize and put down into words without getting frustrated or overwhelmed. A lot of major plot points have been decided just recently, one of which had me crying on the bus on my way to work. It’s just a matter of getting it all written down now.

I attempted National Novel Writing Month this November and failed extravagantly. I nearly burned out at about the halfway mark. Which is a massive splinter in my ego, but I know it was the right decision. I’m in no position to burn out, seize up, and stop writing for another six months to a year. I really need to keep moving forward, and I know that the best way to do that is at my own pace. So, I’m going to do that. Slowly but surely this thing is going to get finished.

When? Well, I initially thought that if I didn’t burn out from NaNoWriMo that I could have the first draft done by the end of the year. Since that didn’t happen, I’ve now decided a tentative date of February 29, 2016. Three months to get another 60,000 words written down. It’s a lot, but if I split it up into months, that’s only 20,000 words a month–5,000 less than what I did this month. I truly believe that I’m capable of managing this. Let’s just hope that the words don’t get away from me!

I want, more than anything, a complete first draft of this story. I can taste it. I can’t lose sight of it. And if I keep riding this wave of inspiration, I think it’s possible. It’s finally happening, AHHH!!!!! I’ll include a short snippet from the novel in my next update. Stay tuned, and thank you everyone for all the support you’ve given me over the years. Y’all keep me sane. <3

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

